CSIR-CRI Partners Oforikrom Municipal Assembly to develop local spring onion varieties for farmers
Spread the love

The CSIR-Crops Research Institute has signed a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) with the Oforikrom Municipal Assembly for the funding of research to develop local spring onion varieties for farmers in the municipality.

With the aim of reducing dependency on imported spring onion seedlings from Burkina Faso and elsewhere, and to enhance their access to farmers, the Oforikrom Municipal Assembly has agreed to provide funding for a five-year research project for the CSIR-Crops Research Institute to develop and disseminate the required seedlings of spring onion varieties. 

The Director of CSIR-CRI, Prof. Moses Brandford Mochiah, and the Chief Executive Officer for the Oforikrom Municipal Assembly, Hon. Abraham Antwi, signed the MoU at a ceremony held at the CSIR-CRI, Fumesua. In attendance at the ceremony were officials of the Municipal Assembly and the Ashanti Regional Director of the Ministry of Food and Agriculture (MoFA), Rev. Dr. John Manu; Ashanti Regional Coordinator of the Research-Extension Linkage Committee, scientists of CSIR-CRI, extension officers and farmers. 

In his address, Prof. M.B. Mochiah expressed his excitement about the project as it falls in line with the vision and mission of CSIR-CRI. He highlighted the importance of the project, explaining how it will not only create new opportunities for farmers but also help promote food security in the country. 

The Oforikrom Municipal Chief Executive, Hon. Abraham Antwi, expressed his gratitude to CSIR-CRI for their acceptance to develop the local spring onion varieties and their production technologies for farmers in his Municipality. The development will ultimately lead to an increase in onion production and boost the national economy.

The Ashanti Regional Director of MoFA, Rev. Dr. John Manu, urged the government of Ghana to give more attention to agricultural research and development activities, to ensure rapid socio-economic development of the country.

List of contributors: Patricia Konadu Mensah, Solomon Gyasi Boakye, Bernard Sakyiamah, Enoch Bobie Agyemang